Janus, the ancient Roman god of beginnings and more

I wonder how many times I’m going to venture back to Deep Ellum and stumble upon street art that has graced brick walls for years yet seems to bypass my view time after time. The good thing is, I’m always pleasantly surprised at new-to-me murals, even when I think I’m current on the art in the neighborhood.

i-janus-deep-ellum-angelkwill
Deep Ellum Janus, by Dan Colcer (Transylvania, Romania @dcolcerart) was painted in 2016.

According to Wikipedia “in ancient Roman religion and myth, Janus (/ˈdʒeɪnəs/; Latin: Ianus, pronounced [ˈjaː.nus]) is the god of beginnings, gates, transitions, time, doorways, passages, and endings. He is usually depicted as having two faces, since he looks to the future and to the past.” Personally, I found the idea to be quite interesting, along with the design, composition and vibrancy of the color palette.

i-portrait-mural-reflection-deep-ellum-angelkwill

I have shot this wall before but not from this perspective. Venturing out after a rain is always exciting as it can present opportune reflection photographs. As you can see, I was in luck.

i-community-garden-deep-ellum-angelkwill

I had not previously ventured out far enough to see this piece of art complimenting the urban gardens. Also by Dan Colcer, this piece was created in 2012. I think the swordfish dancing with the lady on the rooftop and the flower bombs add a nice touch.

i-deep-ellum-beachfront-angelkwill

While we do have water parks, lakes and rivers in DFW, this 2010 mural by Amber Campagna is the closest you’re going to get to the beach. I may have been standing in jeans and a jacket when taking the picture, but I closed my eyes and could imagine the crashing waves, the sound of seagulls, and the sun’s rays warming my skin. Needless to say, I’m getting a hankering to move back to Florida.

i-concrete-treetops-deep-ellum-angelkwill
“Concrete Treetops” by Angel K Will, 2017

i-travelling-man-journeys-on-angelkwill

I wonder if this is the Traveling Man that is 38′ tall. Either way, remember playing Freeze tag when you were little and you had to crawl between the person’s legs to “unfreeze” them. I would have loved to have the Traveling Man on my team. He would have made it so easy when tagged. To read the history of the Traveling Man check out the story here by the Dallas Observer.

deep-ellum-portrait-angelkwill
’til next time, angel

Save

Leave a Reply

