Skate Park Fever

It’s not often that I slow down and chill in front of the TV, but if I pass by and see any kind of extreme sport, I have no problem losing track of time. It’s like I enter a hypnotized state of vicarious living through the ridiculously amazing stunts they successfully (I pray) land, time after time after time.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been mesmerized with extreme sports. Their talent and fearlessness is to be admired. Personally, I gave up the desire for scrapes, strains, sprains and broken bones a long, long time ago. That’s probably part of why I absolutely love watching it. It’s the only way I can experience it.

I think extreme sports are probably one of the best ways to truly feel alive. There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush that surges through your veins when you face a fear head-on. I’ve jumped out of a plane and it was the most exhilarating experience. I would do it every weekend if it didn’t cost so much. But for now, and until I live near the ocean where I’ll surf the breaks every sunrise, my season pass to Six Flags will continue to satisfy my adrenaline fix, specifically the Titan and Mr. Freeze ‘coasters where I can be found in the front row, hands in the air, acting like I just don’t care…

All that to say, this past Saturday night, after spending the day at Deep Ellum’s Art Festival, we swung by Lively Skate Park to practice some in-motion shots. The guys there were great and it was exciting to be so close to the action. I’m definitely going to be shooting there again as well as some Motocross and Roller Derby events in the area.

I have a feeling I could really get into action photography.

View the full album on Flickr.

 

Leave a Reply

